The existing syntax guide in Chase is so brief that it is sometimes confusing. The following edit would be clearer for me.

Bump moves and Chamber moves are fully automated, simply issue a movement command on top of one of your pieces, and it will be bumped in the proper direction. A piece can not be bumped into the chamber, however it may be bumped into the proper position for a later chamber move. The Directional notation, NW NE E SE SW W, are used to tell the system which of two or more possible routes you wish a piece to take, otherwise the system will simply choose one at random. Normally this does not change what happens in the game, but, if you were doing a Bump move, it would matter a great deal which direction your piece is moving in when it hits your other piece. For instance, if you are moving a 6 piece from d6 to d3, there are two routes it can take, either East, or South West. If you had a piece already sitting on d3, a Bump move would result. If you tell the system to move East, your piece will be bumped to the East by a wrap around to the other side of the board, and North West if you chose South West, which would ricochet to the North West. This may result in a capture automatically if there is an opponent's piece next to your piece on d3.

  • Movement: a1-b2
  • Capture: a1xb2
  • Exchange: a1=2,a2=1
  • Distribute-move: {a1,b6}a1-d3
  • Distribute-capture: {a1,b6}a1xd3
  • Distribute-exchange: {b6,a1}a1=2,a2=3

The following explanation explains why the {braces} may contain one or more locations.

The location(s) in {braces} is where the points are distributed. If all points can go to your lowest point piece there is only one location in the {braces} i.e. {b6}a1-b2. Any points that won't go on your first piece then go to the second i.e {b6,a1}a1-d3.

lhh61 14 Jan 2007

-krepta3000 Feb 19 2010-


Using the above image as an example, the following move was illustrated, a5-e3, using a piece with the value of 4. Notice that the other player's pieces equal 25, the pieces must always equal 25, no more, no less. As soon as you are no longer able to rebalance, or redistribute your points to your remaining pieces, you lose. According to the rules, if there had been a friendly piece on e3, it would have been bumped to f3. If there had been an opponent's piece on f3, the previous bump would cause that piece to be captured.

Unless otherwise stated, the content of this page is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 License